Facebook…

At the beginning of the year I made a list of things I want to do this year. Go without facebook for a week is one of them.. Why you may ask? Here’s a list of reasons…

1. I waste way to much time on that stupid thing! Seriously, have you ever added up the amount of time you spend on it?

2. Imagine what I can do with that time I have wasted? Hmm, read my bible, exercise, find a job in AZ to name a few things…

3. I have become obsessed with checking the “news feed”! Really Heather, is in necessary to know what all my friends are doing at that second? In fact, most of the people on my facebook aren’t really that close at all. I mean, in the past week I’ve probably spoken on the phone to maybe 5 of them???

4. Every time I grab my phone I have this obnoxious habit of clicking on the facebook link. Seriously probably at least 6 times a day.

5. I am sick of picking up my phone and computer and having Sam say to me, “Oh hurry, check your facebook”, even if that’s not what I was actually doing. (Truth be told, I probably already checked it before he came in the room 🙂 )

6. I’ve had a facebook since I was a freshman in college, so about 6 years now. I’m 25, and lived 19 years of my life without it just fine. In fact, Sam has lived 26 years without it just fine… So what’s one week?

7. What is the purpose of facebook anyway? Sure it is cool to know what some of my college buddies are doing that I haven’t talked to in awhile. But if I didn’t have facebook, would I call them more? Would we be better friends because I wouldn’t take for granted seeing them across my news feed everyday?

8. I sometimes see facebook as a way people compare themselves to their friends (or so called friends). Is that really necessary? Does someone need to feel bad about themselves because the person they think the person they went to high school with is doing so much better than they are? But are they really? Do they really tell the whole picture of their life? Or better yet, shouldn’t they just keep some of their personal problems off of a social site? Does everybody need to know they brok up with their boyfriend for the 1000th time? Or what color they painted their nails this morning?

Now if you are reading this laughing at me, don’t forget to laugh at yourself too. I KNOW I am not the only person who checks their facebook 10 times a day, because while checking my facebook 10 times a day, I see your 1000’s of updates!!The first step to recovery is to admit there is a problem, and I KNOW I’m not the only one who has this problem! 🙂

So here is to a week without facebook, starting Sunday, March 13, 2011 at 3pm eastern time. 

 If you follow my blog and usually respond to my posts, don’t forget to leave a comment on my blog, not facebook because I wont get it!

Also, if something exciting happens within the next week and you are a true friend, call me! I wont be on facebook to share with the excitement 🙂

Happy Facebooking!

Leave a Reply

