Turkey Shoot

Have you ever been to a Turkey Shoot? Maybe I should ask, Have you ever heard of a turkey shoot? Well, needless to say, neither had I until we moved out here…

Here’s the deal… You purchase bird shot for $3 from the organizer. You are assigned a number, and when your number is called, you go up to shoot a target. The shooter that is the closest to the target wins a turkey. If you are at a fancy turkey shoot, you win a ham. Below is a picture of how one of the locations we went to was setup.  

Then when your number is called, you go ahead and fire at the target.

Everybody else stands back and waits for their turn…Then when everyone has had their turn, the judge compares all the targets.

This is my first shot. Needless to say, I didn’t win. Apparently there are special chokes which create a tighter pattern, giving you a better chance to get a bullet into the bullseye. The winner gets to pick their turkey or ham out of that ice chest below my turkey target.

Two funny things about the shoots 1. The first shoot we went to everyone was in camouflage. Really? I’m pretty sure the target is not going to move if it sees you. 2. This picture below is way blurry, but I needed to show you two things in it. The first is look how close to the road we are! I think we were shooting about 50 feet off of the road! OMG! The second thing I want you to notice about the bottom picture is the black car. Did someone really bring their fancy car to a turkey shoot?? 🙂 

We have since purchased a better choke for my gun (By the way, Rick won a turkey and Garrett won 2 that night. Rick has a skeet gun that shoots really well.)I’ll let you know how that turns out for us!

One response to “Turkey Shoot

Leave a Reply

